• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

10/22 Build

paulleve

NES Member
I've been shooting for quite a few years, and have never owned a 10/22. This summer I figured it was time to change this, so I started ordering parts as I figured out the ones I wanted. My goal was to build a .22 for accuracy, that I can shoot at the 300 and 400 yard long range at my club. Here are a few pics of the build for anyone considering a pretty easy project.

IMG_1495.jpg

The patent ran out on the 10/22, so lots of companies are now making parts. It's possible to build an entire rifle without using a single Ruger part. Here are the parts I assembled for this build, and there are only a couple components that are actually made by Ruger. The rest come from a variety of manufacturers.

IMG_1497.jpg

The only challenging part of this build was getting the barrel into the receiver. This step required anti-seize, heating the receiver, and some slight motivation with a rubber mallet. Then I spent way too much time leveling out the barrel and receiver to make sure the extractor opening was correctly timed. The only "special tool" that helps in the build is a rounded Allen bit that will allow the use to a torque wrench to tighten down the v-block that connects the barrel and receiver.

For this build I wanted a receiver without a built in rail because I planned to mount a 40 MOA rail for long distance shooting. I also wanted a receiver with an opening at the rear to allow a cleaning rod to be inserted through the breech end of the barrel. As for the barrel, I did lots of research and it turns out everyone has their favorites. (There are plenty of videos of guys on Youtube who install a $300 barrel then conduct accuracy tests with Golden Bullets!)

IMG_1498.jpg