224 Valkyrie

lazypengu1n

NES Member
With all the crazy hype about 224 Valkyrie being the next biggest thing for the AR-15 platform, I'd like to share my experiences so far with this cartridge.

I've been shooting long distance for the past 3 years and by no means an expert. I go on a yearly prairie dog hunt in Texas shooting anywhere from 200y out past 1000y at dogs, coyotes, cottontails and jacks. Year 1, my longest shot was 325y at a running coyote and this year was 725y at a various jacks and dogs.

Shooting out that far requires practice and good ammo, reason I roll my own and unless I get 1 MOA or better @ 100y with my ammo I keep developing it. I shoot 17WSM (rimfire) and 22-250 and 6.5 Creedmoor.

This year brought a custom built AR10 in 6.5 Creedmoor (hits at 725y) and it was heavy and required an extra case in which the airline smacked me an additional $150 (on the way home, on the way out the lady was nice and only charged me $35 but did warn YMMV on the return flight) as it was my 3rd rifle case because the first two are $35 each. I was looking for a lighter semi-auto package that could reach out to 1000y so this wouldn't happen again. This is where the 224 Valkyrie comes in.

The only factory ammo I could my hands on is the Federal Ammunition 75 gn TMJ ammo. Listed BC is .35, not bad right for "range" plinking ammo I thought. Zeroing for 25y to make sure I get on paper and WOW!.... right one the money! Zeroing at 100y, I put a few rounds down range and establish a group and make adjustments. I shoot the remaining 4 - 1MOA diamonds with 5 rd groups. Various results, horizontal stringing, 3 out 2 in, 4 out 1 in, 2 out 3 in. Weird, perhaps it's a new barrel, maybe it's me. It's holding at least a 2MOA group ok fine. Whatever, close enough.