9mm 1911 decision question

jkerm3

NES Member
OK so I got the itch to pick up a 1911 in 9mm.

Was at my LGS today and found a like-new Rock Island with Trijicon sights and 4 mags for $450. Build was tight, it felt great in hand, and the trigger was smooth and crisp.

I was planning to go to FS next week to check out/buy a Springfield RO for $699 + tax but now I am wondering if I should just get the RIA. I haven’t held the SA but have heard they are great too. Is the 60% premium for the SA worth it?

Which would you buy and why? Thanks.

Last edited:
Get the Springfield!
I have a Colt Competition in 9mm.
I would have bought a Springfield Range Officer if they had one in stock when I bought it.
Better value for the money.

I like my Colt for the name and it is a quality pistol.

RO is an excellent gun. I have no experience with the RI but it is probably $450 for a reason. Springfield also has a lifetime warranty.

OK so I got the itch to pick up a 1911 in 9mm.

Was at my LGS today and found a like-new Rock Island with Trijicon sights and 4 mags for $450. Build was tight, it felt great in hand, and the trigger was smooth and crisp.

I was planning to go to FS next week to check out/buy a Springfield RO for $699 + tax but now I am wondering if I should just get the RIA. I haven’t held the SA but have heard they are great too. Is the 60% premium for the SA worth it?

Which would you buy and why? Thanks.
Had both
The Rock worked but was Rough
The Springfield RO was is one of my Favs
Shoots like a dream

Attachments

• A66E4EAC-0F39-49D1-AEDE-CCB2E4646D4C.jpeg
    A66E4EAC-0F39-49D1-AEDE-CCB2E4646D4C.jpeg
    54.3 KB · Views: 27
Keep in mind, once I add night sights and more mags to the SA, the difference is even more. Is the SA really worth nearly twice as much as the RIA?

Keep in mind, once I add night sights and more mags to the SA, the difference is even more. Is the SA really worth nearly twice as much as the RIA?