9mm quality ammo question

mtsfitness

NES Member
Excuse me if this is not the most intelligent question, im a newbee.

Went to the range today and bought 100 rds of 9mm Silver Bear (made in russia) ammo. I also shot pmc 9mm that I had previously purchased.

When shooting the Silver Bear I had several malfunctions in my brand new M&P Shield and a rented m&p 9. Double feeds and stove pipes.

Wondering what the reputation is of this particular ammo? Im not sure whether or not to blame the ammo or the firearm?

I was not paying close attention but the malfunctions appeared to start when I started shooting the Silver Bear.

Any input would be great.

Thanks

Silver Bear isn't bad, but it's steel-cased and some pistols don't like steel cases. You may want to stick with brass, if that's an option. Best of luck.

I have had a ftf with some steel stuff its minimal though. would I trust my life in a fire fight hell no. will i piss through it at the range for cheap hell yeah. I have even had the same thing ftf with cheaper brass to.

I use an m&p 45

I have used alot of Brown Bear and never an issue. Also never with Fiocchi, Tula, Blazer Brass, Blazer, Winchester White Box, RWS,. Yea i like to try almost all brands to see which are accurate and reliable. The only one i had a few probs in my Ruger and Glock were American Eagle 115 Grain. Also if it's a new gun then break in may need be. Did you trade/Sell the G27 Yet?

Last edited:
Excuse me if this is not the most intelligent question, im a newbee.

Went to the range today and bought 100 rds of 9mm Silver Bear (made in russia) ammo. I also shot pmc 9mm that I had previously purchased.

When shooting the Silver Bear I had several malfunctions in my brand new M&P Shield and a rented m&p 9. Double feeds and stove pipes.
my new shield had some problems ejecting crappy steel at the range - brass, no matter how crappy, is fine

my m&p 9 eats anything I put in there