• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Absolute noob question(s) about GMRS

allen-1

NES Member
I have FRS "walkie-talkies" that I use with the grandchildren when they're roaming, and they work fine for that purpose.

I'm reading a little about GMRS now, and wondering if it has any usable application for me given the current Coronavirus situation or any other "disaster".

As far as I can see, it's essentially FRS, but with a better range and the ability to monitor weather stations.

Thoughts?

For starters you may want to review this thread. Most of it should still be good but updates from other NESers are always welcome.

For starters you may want to review this thread. Most of it should still be good but updates from other NESers are always welcome.

Thank you.

GMRS legally requires a license and last I looked that license was rather expensive. MURS on the other hand is free to use with no license and probably exceeds GMRS range. An excellent MURS radio is the BTECH MURS-V1 ($55 each) Amazon product ASIN B075VBP9YGView: https://smile.amazon.com/BTECH-MURS-V1-Manufacturing-Personal-Business/dp/B075VBP9YG/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=BTech+Murs&qid=1584108555&sr=8-3

I bought a pair 2 years ago so that my Wife (non Ham) and I could stay in touch at NearFest and Boxboro's ham convention. They worked great and the batteries lasted all day without recharging.

Note: the "privacy" features of FRS/GMRS/MURS don't actually do anything, think of it as "smart squelch" not any sort of actual privacy.

I have FRS "walkie-talkies" that I use with the grandchildren when they're roaming, and they work fine for that purpose.