Ammo can radio

Nice, I did the same thing but put some speakers in it. Definitely a handy thing to have around.

Right now i have a portable 25w dual usb solar pannel ..... I'm a beginner so if you know something i don't or know that this won't work or be big eanough please fill me in.

- - - Updated - - -

I was going to put a speaker in but the radio already has one on it so the i cut the weight.

Nicely done[thumbsup]. The ammo can is a nice idea. Rugged, waterproof and even EMP proof if the lid is on when the EMP happens.

Ammo cans are not EMP proof as the EMP can travel right through the huge gap between the cover and the container (rubber gasket).

Opinions vary on what is EMP proof. I've read lots that say the EMP from a nuke in orbit has most of its energy in fairly long wavelengths and most things just sitting on the table that don't have cables attached to act as antennas will be fine. I think there would have to be a lot of energy at very short wavelengths to get past the side lips and into the box.

Then there's the top secret EMP weapons we read about. Rumors say they have more energy in the higher frequencies and will take out a lot more stuff.

Has this been tested?

Probably not. EMP is something people freak out about but don't really grasp. I read somewhere that all you had to do was lay a sheet of tin foil over the top of an ammo can and so long as it made contact all the way around it would be EMP proof. What a joke. Everyone knows all you need to do is keep everything in a metal trash can and you will win the EMP war.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYWhTMmv6bs