• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Another nail in CT 2A's coffin; Temporary restraining order passes senate

allen-1

NES Member
http://fox61.com/2016/05/02/bill-re...s-to-surrender-guns-passes-state-legislature/

http://www.ctpost.com/local/article/Senate-approves-gun-seizures-7388578.php

Okay - so, I'm not a lawyer, yada, yada - but as I understand all of this, here's how it works -

Someone files a complaint - you don't get to face your accuser. The temporary restraining order is issued by a judge without you being able to defend yourself. If a temporary restraining order is filed, you have 24 hours to transfer your firearms. You then get a hearing within 7 days at which the judge determines under normal proceedings if he's going to issue a restraining order. If the restraining order isn't issued, you get your guns back.

Yeah. Let's see how many problems I can find with that.

1 - I went through very ugly child custody court battles with my ex, the police visited multiple times. If this card were available to her to use against me, I'm sure it would have been played.
2 - Firearms are being seized just upon an unsubstantiated complaint, without being allowed to face your accuser, and without due process.
3 - Firearms have to be "transferred", I don't know for sure, but I doubt that there's language in the law to allow the transfer back of firearms such as "assault weapons" that can't currently be transferred to private owners in Connecticut.

These are just the problems with this that come immediately to mind. More "common-sense" gun laws that screw the gun-owner.

Fck you Malloy, and Fck Connecticut.

Allen-1; living quite happily in Georgia now...

Last edited:
Connecticut has really gone downhill since Malloy took over.

It is a worst place than Mass. now.