• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Anyone Own A...? (a thread to ask about Brand/Model experiences)

i don't own that particular civivi but i bought an olive drab one for my husband for xmas and he's happy so far. flips open quick and smooth, real sharp out of the box.
I have two, and just ordered this as my third. They are very well made and operate smoothly. So far, so good!

Any ideas on how to sharpen/maintain Damascus steel blades?

I wish I could help you...I have zero experience with Damascus Steel except that I think it's sexy as hell.
I hear it sharpens similar to S35V, but the high carbon content is prone to rusting and pitting.

At that price, it will be a great knife to learn on...

I hear it sharpens similar to S35V, but the high carbon content is prone to rusting and pitting.

At that price, it will be a great knife to learn on...
I've passed on a few DS knives only because I know virtually nothing about them or how they grade the steel in them. Are they all the same hardness or is there "cheap" DS and "good" DS out there? I have seen a few Bucks made with DS so will go out on a limb and they those would be good DS that's assuming of course, that Buck actually made the blades and they weren't aftermarket blades.

Here's a DS Buck 110 (made in 1989) which sold on eBay a few weeks ago for almost $300. It looks like a Buck stamp on the blade so it is most likely Buck.

1609542821123.png

Last edited:
CIVIVI Also makes a Pintail in CPM S35VN with micarta stocks...

1609710637193.png

SPECIFICATIONS​

• Overall Length:7.00"
  • Blade Length:3.00"
  • Blade Thickness:0.10"
  • Blade Material:CPM-S35VN
  • Hardness:59-61HRC
  • Blade Style: Drop Point
  • Blade Grind: Hollow
  • Finish: Satin
  • Edge Type: Plain
  • Caged Ceramic Ball Bearing
  • Handle Length:4.00"
  • Handle Thickness:0.46"
  • Handle Material: Micarta
  • Color: Brown