• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR malfunctions help *UPDATE* SUCCESS!!!!!!!

Ink

I have been searching NES for about 2 hours looking for threads on common AR malfunctions and immediate action drills to practice because i am pretty new to AR's.

Can someone point me to a trusted resource?
Thanks!

Last edited:
SPORTS

Slap up on the magazine
Pull back on the charging handle
Observe the round leaving the chamber (or not leaving).
Release the charging handle
Tap the forward assist
Squeeze the trigger

That's for malfunctions.

AR's are a pretty reliable weapons system. With a good quality AR, the only problems you'll encounter are operator error. Bad mags, ammo, maintenance habits.

Enjoy the AR. I always have.:D

hmm, so what happens when an empty piece of brass gets wedged between a fresh round halfway in the chamber and the top of the upper receiver?

It's not happening often, i need to fix the problem and i was hoping for s better way to clear it besides dropping the mag, twisting the empty casing out, then extracting the damaged live round etc etc etc....

btw.. thanks jar. good info there.

lemme set up the malfunction i am talking about and i'll post a pic....

Last edited:
IMG_0271.jpg

here's whats going on

weak extractor/ejector or its short stroking.

I assume when it happens the bolt is down of the live round. Try ripping the empty out by hand, if the live round come out of the chamber, then drop the mag. cycle the Bolt, put the mag back in and charge the round.

By the looks of all the brass at the ejection port, you have an issue with your rifle, who built it

Using American Eagle ammo, CCI ammo.
CS Products mags, Orlite mags.

I don't exactly know the total round count on the rifle. I think it is about 600 or so. I have put about 200-300 rounds through it myself and this malfunction is the only malfunction i get... about one every 2-3 magz.