• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR Muzzle device question??

I am somewhat new to the world of ARs and I have a question. I recently got into a debate with a guy about the legality of flash hiders. I was told the muzzle device in this pic was legal, but I think it is a standard A2 flash hider, which would make the rifle illegal in MA, since it is post ban. What do you guys think?

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1363437340.386342.jpg

Not legal, it is an A2 flash hider. Also, please be advised that in MA, the addition of any compliant muzzle device needs to be pinned/welded to your weapon. Further, any company can claim that what ever they wish to discribe the function of the device they sell. In the unlikely event that you are questioned legally, it is up to you to prove it is indeed a comp or brake.

Not legal, it is an A2 flash hider. Also, please be advised that in MA, the addition of any compliant muzzle device needs to be pinned/welded to your weapon. Further, any company can claim that what ever they wish to discribe the function of the device they sell. In the unlikely event that you are questioned legally, it is up to you to prove it is indeed a comp or brake.

That's what I thought. The guy was adamant that it is legal. By the way it wasn't pinned or permanently affixed. When I told him that, he looked at me like I have no clue what I was talking about...

It's not an end-all rule, but generally if the muzzle end is significantly larger than the bore diameter, it is a flash suppressor

How do you know it's an A2? There are many similar looking muzzle brakes out there that looks like A2.... Tough one to prove IMHO.