• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

AR15 in Massachusetts worth it?

I live in Lowell, so I'm up to my ass in anti-gun bullshit... Anyway,

I have started to think about getting an AR. I'd love to build one but Im not sure what my options are. As far as I know. I can buy a preban AR already put together =$$$. Or buy a pre ban lower and build the rest myself, (even using postban parts as long as the lower is preban).= Less $$$?

I'm a college student so money is tight.

Last, is it worth the headache?

I'd appreciate some advice from Mass AR owners. Thanks!

Any particular reason you have to have a preban AR? Postban ARs are plentiful and relatively inexpensive.

...I live in Mass

You can legally own a crippled postban AR in MA, with an LTC-B or better. Any MA gun store usually has them, lots of models well under a grand, too.

The expensive part these days is the ammo. Don't worry about what the gun costs, worry about what it's going to cost you to feed it. A case of 5.56 NATO these days is half the price of a rifle. [shocked]

-Mike

...I live in Mass

Which means you can own a post-ban or a pre-ban but not an AR that was built after the Federal AW ban sunset with all those eeeeeevilllllle! features such as a flash hider, pistol grip, collapsible stock etc.
Post bans will cost you less money unless you happen to come upon a great deal.

I'm confused.

I just called four seasons and they told me that I can buy a postban as long as it doesn’t have collapsible stock, flash hider, and bayonet lug. Other wise im good to go???

I thought their was an asault weppons ban???

Without trying to sound too noobish...can someone explain the AR in Mass situation to me?

....Be nice.

I'm confused.

I just called four seasons and they told me that I can buy a postban as long as it doesn’t have collapsible stock, flash hider, and bayonet lug. Other wise im good to go???