AR9 barrel nut grease

So this will be my first build.

I'm up in Maine and getting ready to assemble this morning. What I have available is a pot of trusty Lubriplate No. 130-A. Any thoughts on its suitability for the outside of the barrel, inside the receiver sleeve and on the barrel nut threads?

If its NOT OK, why and what else would anyone recommend?

Thanks!

I use anti-seize on barrel nuts. I'm sure the lubriplate will work fine to install but I'd be concerned about its long term result assuming exposure to heat.

Why lube anything other than the threads?

I think it is stable long term with respect to heat.

with respect to where to apply it - it was suggested to me to apply it all over - but again this is my first build so what the heck do I know!

Probably OK either way. I've had better luck with anti-seize when it's difficult to get the holes timed for the gas tube and some extra oomph is necessary.

Personally I'd leave the barrel extension and receiver dry. You really don't want grease inside an AR. It's going to collect gunk and will be more effort to clean than the usual oil lubes for the BCG etc.

I think almost any grease will do.
Anti seize can be used also-- I prefer the molybdenum disulfide and graphite based anti seize products but im always a bit weary of graphite and aluminum amd all the other metals in the anti seize having some sort of galvanic reaction..... I have a tub of red "marine" wheel bearing grease. I put that shit on everything!

al though this stuff smells like a combo of Alox and Cosmoline I spray it on most things metal.

I’ve used antiseize, moly lube, general grease etc. Umm.....I’ve had zero problems. Sorry [wink]

yup , I hear this from people daily “I haven’t had any problems”

but I also see the people that have Had the problems and catastrophic failures

you’ve been lucky .... so far

but that could change at any time