• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

BATFE reform

I am not a gunsmith. I am a gun owner and bookworm who like to tinker with my own guns, and I have a fairly large collection of books on gunsmithing. (I really read about it more than I do it.)

I have a subscription to a gunsmithing magazine called AMERICAN GUNSMITH. This editorial appeared in the latest (June 2006) issue.

Just before this issue went to press, hearings were held by the House Judiciary Comittee's Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security, focused on enforcement abuses by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (BATFE). Opinions were also aired about a new bill intended to correct several issues in federal firearms law.

First, the subcommittee heard testimony from people with first hand experience dealing with BATFE. Virginia lawyer Richard Gardiner, who has represented many gun owners and dealers, focused on the way BATFE handles cases against federally licensed firearms dealers, often seeking to revoke FFLs for "trivial, immaterial violations" based on "undefined legal standards". Gardiner described one case where a dealer lost his license even though BATFE itself agreed his records were 99.96 percent accurate, and the few errors posed no threat to public safety.

Next, Lt. Michael Lara of the Tuscon Police Department recounted his personal horror story at the hands of BATFE. After buying a gun as a gift for a friend, Lt. Lara found himself facing federal felony charges as a "straw purchaser". Lt. Lara lost his job, and didn't get it back before a three month legal nightmare cost him more than $200,000 in legal fees, lost pay, and other costs. BATFE never even interviewed him during it's investigation, and the jury acquitted him in less than an hour.