Beginner Ham shopping list (links please)

So still trying to get going on this. I've got the books and am reading them/will take the exam and get licensed.

I'd like to start putting together a shopping list to know what kind of investment I need to make in order to have a good foundation of equipment including:

1) Handheld unit
2) Desktop unit
3) Antenna
4) Accessories, power supplies, etc

I usually like to spend a bit more than the absolute beginner model to have room to grow. I'm even willing to spend beyond that in this case. I'm sure no one model will have it all but looking for suggestions.

Any links, lists would be greatly appreciated

QTH.com is a good spot for used gear. I've bought a few things off of there... hamradio.com, they are in NH just over the line...so that's a great wealth of information and gear.

I don't know what to tell you other than what I know. I seem to have gravitated towards ICOM and Yaesu. I have found that I like the Yaesu's a little more...but that's a user preference I believe.

I would strongly recommend joining your nearby ham club. Every club has a few people who are experienced and willing to "elmer" you through much of this. We were all newbs at one time.

Requesting link for a good base antenna please.

For what bands?

Also to the OP, you're going to need to be more detailed. What type of handheld and base radios are you looking for? What bands and modes are you interested in? If that's still greek to you, more generally, what do you want to use the radio for? To put it in NES terms, your questions are like, I want to buy a pistol and a rifle, what should I get?

1) Handheld unit
http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/ht/0066.html
http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hamhf/1817.html
2) Desktop unit
http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hamhf/0718.html
http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hamhf/0748.html
3) Antenna
http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hamants/0520.html