• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Best way to obtain non-resident LTC for my circumstances?

Hello all!
I’m researching the best way to obtain a non-resident LTC in MA. I am currently a resident of Georgia with a GA weapons carry license. My girlfriend is moving to Boston in the coming months, and as I know I will be there quite frequently in the coming years, I am hoping to find a way to carry. I am unsure if my arrangement is a sufficient justification to receive an unrestricted LTC. I am currently a 25 year old medical student that doesn’t hunt or attend sporting events. Any help, advice would be much appreciated.

Welcome!!!

I think you will have to apply in person in Chelsea, MA. You'll have to make an appointment.
It will be unrestricted if I recall - so you could carry.

Others will chime in shortly to correct me if I'm wrong.

Welcome!!!

I think you will have to apply in person in Chelsea, MA. You'll have to make an appointment.
It will be unrestricted if I recall - so you could carry.

Others will chime in shortly to correct me if I'm wrong.

I believe most are unfortunately, restricted. Those with "special" circumstances (carrying large sums of cash, lawyers, MA instructor), or having a prior unrestricted resident license have a shot at unrestricted.

What Reptile said is correct. You need to apply in person in Chelsea, and then subsequent annual renewals can be by mail (I forget how many, 5 or 6), before you need to come back in person.

Sounds like you know, but the GA permit doesn't mean anything in Mass. Don't bring anything with you prior to having the MA LTC, and that includes ammo.