Can a MA resident buy a mini 14 in NH?

I am a MA resident. Aside from the hi cap mag restrictions, is it legal to purchase a Mini14, M1A or similar MA approved rifle in NH and bring it back over the border to be registered in MA? Does it need to be shipped to my FFL? Private sales OK?

Thank you
C

Yes, you can, no problem, you would have to buy it at an FFL out of state though because of Federal law. A private sale would have to be pushed through an FFL. Any NH FFL that isnt shit would sell you a mini, no problem (or transfer one to you from a resident of NH or some other state )

Yes, you can, no problem, you would have to buy it at an FFL out of state though because of Federal law. A private sale would have to be pushed through an FFL. Any NH FFL that isnt shit would sell you a mini, no problem (or transfer one to you from a resident of NH or some other state )
Thank you!

Sumnah - the law says that an out of state FFL can only sell you a gun that would be legal for you to acquire in your home state.

So no pre-ban config ARs for example. Also, no "tactical" type Mini 14s. (folding stock, threaded bbl with flash hider, etc).

But I suspect you didn't mean that. You meant a traditionally stocked Mini. But I just wanted to make sure you knew the limits.

Don

... I just wanted to make sure you knew the limits.
hqdefault.jpg

You can.... if you can live with yourself lol.

I kid. Kind of.
Haha for buying a mini?

I’m shopping for my first semi auto rifle. The mini isn’t my ideal choice but it seems like a pretty cost effective option and relatively easy to find. I hear Ruger remedied the accuracy issues but if there are other reasons to avoid them I’d love to hear about them.

Huge DT fan btw

Suggestion if looking for a first semi-auto rifle:
Ruger 10/22
Remington 742 in .270 or 30-06 or another caliber (.243? .260? .280? .308?) as you will find more ammo available.

Haha for buying a mini?