Careers in law enforcement

I've thought in the past about getting into a career in law enforcement. The issue that I keep running into is that I have some ankle/knee problems and I can't run distances. I can do a quick sprint, but I don't think I can run a mile. I can bike 30 miles, so it's not a cardiovascular thing, it's just me leg. So, as far as I can tell, that would disqualify me for most patrol/LEO jobs.

Are there other ways that I can have a career in law enforcement (I don't mean being a receptionist in a PD or something, I mean actually working in law enforcement). I'm a pretty smart guy (at least I like to think so). I have a Bachelor's degree, although it's not in criminal justice or anything - it's in chemistry. And obviously I have some firearms experience, although I doubt that's a prerequisite for a LE job.

I've thought about forensics, since that related to my chemistry degree, but I was wondering if anyone has suggestions for careers in actual law enforcement.

Also, I live in Somerville, MA, if that matters.

Thanks guys.

Unfortunately might not be the best time to get into the career now, in that A LOT of depts are laying off, and the few that are hiring are picking guys up off the lay off list...

But ignoring all that for the purpose of discussion, I'd suggest first getting on some place as a part timer (reserve, special, auxilary, whatever) and try to find such a place where the part timers at least "kinda" do stuff. Plan on doing that for a year or so to at least get a "taste" of law enforment, then you can make up your own mind on what you'ld like to do...

As for your ankle problems, from what you descibe I wouldn't worry...

From what I understand, it is very, very hard to get on a force in MA. Your best bet would be to join a force out of state, get a number of years of experience, and then try to move back to MA (if you wanted to come back).

I don't know the implications of your injury.