Case of straw purchase even though there was an FFL involved?

False. You CAN buy a gun you intend to give as a gift. The ATF has been very clear on this point. I mean VERY clear, especially for them. You also CAN buy a gun you intend to try and flip for a profit.

The ONLY thing you CAN NOT do is buy a gun with a specific BUYER lined up. It doesn't matter if it's your buddy Joe LEO, who you KNOW isn't a PP. If Joe said, "Oh you're going to go get gun X? Cool here's the money get me one too." or "Get me one and I'll pay you back." etc... That would be a straw purchase.

As long as you are giving it as a gift, or buying it as an investment with no prearranged buyer, it is perfectly legal.

FTR, I have filed well north of 1K 4473s in the few yrs I sold guns for a living, including hundreds of gift guns for dad, son, whatever, and have been involved in straw purchase investigations.

I've often wondered about this because I have a friend who said she went to the gun store and plopped down the credit card and said to them "Have my husband come in and choose whatever gun he wants".....and I was like damn, that's cool, I wish my wife would do th......err wait, isn't that a straw purchase?? happened many years ago, I just kept my mouth shut about it.

I've often wondered about this because I have a friend who said she went to the gun store and plopped down the credit card and said to them "Have my husband come in and choose whatever gun he wants".....and I was like damn, that's cool, I wish my wife would do th...err wait, isn't that a straw purchase?? happened many years ago, I just kept my mouth shut ab out it.
Who would GAS? You're not a PP. Jack.