'chester highway' public 'range' near Hooksett?

Where there once was a man in the mountain
First, Hi to everyone, I'm a noob here. [wave]

While shooting at MFL in Manchester the other day someone told me of a public 'range' to shoot, no fees or membership required.

At first I thought they were referring to the Chester Rod and Gun Club, but when I asked for more details, they said "no, it's Chester Highway, just a place off the highway where a bunch of people go to shoot". I believe it was near Hooksett, NH.

I'm not sure how organized or safe a place like this would be, but I was wondering if anyone else has heard of it and if so, what do you know about it?

I would not try to shoot on any property without the owner's permission. I don't think the 'some guy told me it was ok to shoot here' would cover me in all situations. This sounds too close to a 'my dog ate my permission letter' type of excuse to me.

Yes, I'll be joining a local club soon, but asking this stupid question gave me an excuse to say hi and possibly learn what others may know about this 'spot'.

Thanks!

Welcome R1ch!

I'm familiar w/ the spot. I have shot there in the past, but I won't go back. It isn't a range so much as a shooting lane in the woods w/ a boulder form a backstop and a couple of rusted out cars and trash. I don't think anyone would bother you, but there's just too many snowmobilers/x-c skiers/hikers out there. My advice would be to join a local club.

What town are you in?

Orvanic,

I'm going to be joining Chester RnG as I live just 10 to 15 minutes from there. I'll probably be at their next meeting if all goes as planned.

That's what I thought about the highway spot. In fact I was told about the shot out cars and such. I was just wondering if it is a legal (and safe) place to shoot.

Thanks again!

Orvanic,

I'm going to be joining Chester RnG as I live just 10 to 15 minutes from there. I'll probably be at their next meeting if all goes as planned.