• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Chrony question

Dante231

NES Member
I've been reloading handgun for a few years. Just starting to do some rifle. I'd like to get a chronograph but I'm not really sure why. Does it matter how fast the bullet is travelling if it's accurate? What's the point of the speed, unless you're hunting and you need to know down-range ballistics?

On a rifle you're look for accuracy "nodes", from what I read on the interwebs. What if one of those nodes has a funky speed?

I guess what I'm asking . . . how do you use one of these - speed or accuracy? and which is priority?

If you are using published loads and aren't shooting long distance then a chronograph likely won't help much

I use mine to help match cast target loads to carry ammo.

Consistent speed is a precursor to accuracy - finding a consistent speed (low SD) that falls at a barrel node is the goal

Don’t know why this is a question of either/or. Velocity is data. Use it however you need to.

Nodes are kind of like part tolerances. Get in the middle of a range so you’ll be fine if you’re off +/-.

Let me reframe the question:

I bring my brand new chronograph out to the range along with my favorite rifle and a pile of reloads on the lower side of the recommended loadings. What do I do first?

I bring my brand new chronograph out to the range along with my favorite rifle and a pile of reloads on the lower side of the recommended loadings. What do I do first?
Go home and load more ammo with a wide range of powder.

how do you use one of these - speed or accuracy? and which is priority?
you just need to read a bit about the process.
the target goal is the optimal combination of 3 sets of parameters - where you get an optimal speed, optimal accuracy/grouping and the stable ES/SD numbers.