• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Company Forbids Off-Duty Carry of Firearms on Property?

If you don't answer the phone you can't be called in.
I was in high school well before called ID. Everyone I worked in a restaurant with knew you NEVER answered you home phone unless you were prepared to go in to work (saying no was not an option if you wanted decent hours the next week). My family knew to never say that I was home unless they knew who it was - it was always "I will see if he's here".

My work has a gun policy. I have to have it. They try to call me in, and I say: sorry... im 4 beers deep, cant carry gun. Your policy not mine. Then I lol

I have a cop and a ATP pilot friend who have both used that. Its inarguable. Thats whats so perfect. Unless you are on standby. But you get paid to be on standby.

Last edited:
There have been hospitals who (successfully) implemented "no tobacco" policies. Not just no smoking on the property, but no smoking (or other tobacco use) period. And they enforced it with random testing.

So: yes, the company can get away with this no matter how stupid it sounds.

There have been hospitals who (successfully) implemented "no tobacco" policies. Not just no smoking on the property, but no smoking (or other tobacco use) period. And they enforced it with random testing.

So: yes, the company can get away with this no matter how stupid it sounds.

I feel that this should be wrong.

If it was government doing this people would scream about freedom. However when a corporation does it it's ok?
How long before the corporations are the government?

I am not talking about on property policy but controlling you at all times on or off the clock.