Current or Former NY State LTC Holder - Read this!

Current or Former NY State LTC Holder - Read this! Your New York pistol permit can / will be revoked if your do not recertify on the NY State Police Web Site by Jan 31, 2018.

Not to scare or rile anyone up, this is just a heads up for those affected if you are not aware. I post it here because the first two former New York state residents I recently spoke with had not heard about it and would have been affected.

The Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, and this is not legal advice. If this affects you, seek information from the NY County Clerk office that issued your permit.

If you ever had a NY pistol permit, and did not formally surrender it, this effects you.

As background, the New York State Pistol Permit system was (in most cases) run by the county clerks office in each county and was a separate paper based system in each county. Like the original MA FID cards, the NY pistol permits were valid until revoked. Many people were casual about changes of address, surrendering upon moving out of state, or death of owner, etc.

The New York Safe Act, in addition to the regulation of so called assault weapons, also called for the recertification of all pistol permits by the deadline of Jan 31, 2018 and every five years thereafter. Failure to recertify a pistol permit that was issued prior to the SAFE ACT will result in revocation of pistol permit (and the next time you have to answer the question, “have you ever had a LTC revoked”…..you get the drift). Every NY permit holder of record was to be sent a letter about recertification, but if you did not have your current mailing address on file for your permit it seems you were out of luck on the mailing.