• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

cz or savage

Im teaching my brother how to shoot and im deciding between a savage mk2 bvt or a cz 452 ultra lux. any input on accuracy/quality of the rifles. This will also be my primary target gun so thats why the accuracy question comes in.

Last edited:
The triggers on the CZ 452 are legendary - good. I wish I hadn't parted with mine - a great target / training rifle. IMO
I have no experience with the Savage, but the trigger they have on their bolt 223/308 rifles is also very nice.

Last edited:
I have a savage mk 2. I bought it for $200 with a scope. A deal I couldn't pass. Now if I were to chose between the 2 I'd go with the CZ. But weigh your options.

Savage= made in America
CZ= made in turkey (I think)

I don't know what you guys are talking about. I really don't. But I have a savage model 10ba 308. It's really nice high quality. So I'd be surprised if they make junk. I have a leupold 6.5-24 vx3 on it. I'm a new shooter and at 2oo yds nothing leaves the first ring on an 8" target.
3e3a4ane.jpg

I have a savage mk 2. I bought it for $200 with a scope. A deal I couldn't pass. Now if I were to chose between the 2 I'd go with the CZ. But weigh your options.

Savage= made in America
CZ= made in turkey (I think)

CZ is from the Czech Republic. CZ-USA -> About CZ UB

FWIW, I have been very happy with my CZ 455 Lux (shorter barrel than the ultra lux you mentioned), although I'm pretty much a rank beginner with questionable eyesight.
Bench rested with a scope at 50yds: cz50ydRested.jpg (the target is about a 2.25 inch circle - one of nine on a standard sheet of paper, the extra hole farther away was from a different group, probably something offhand) I think I was shooting Aguila ammo that day.

CZ is from the Czech Republic. CZ-USA -> About CZ UB