• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

cz shadow 2 with an extended pin

paul73

NES Member
Hi,

as it is a gun new to me - i am still learning.
read the thread below. an RO got shot and killed when shadow 2 was dropped.

the consensus in the thread seems to be to blame, potentially, a setup with a 11.5# reduced hammer spring and a combination of the extended firing pin with a light FP spring.
i have this same setup from cajun, looked at it before with a bit of concern as i also saw the end of firing pin extending out a bit when hammer is resting.

so, will try to run tests with a standard firing pin and reduced FP spring and 11.5# hammer spring - to see it will get it firing reliably.
it is mostly an FYI post, but, if anybody has something to say - please, or if it was already a well known info - sorry for the dupe.

Interesting read for sure.

Somewhere in there (page 5 I think) someone tried what you want to, on a lino covered concrete floor.
Didn't get the same results, or at least didn't get it to fire off. And I believe he said he dropped it on the hammer and the muzzle.

I'm wondering if the sear was cut too much and had push-off from the get go.

as of what i could do - as i have a laser cartridge in it - i tried to drop a hammer by pulling it off may be 5-7mm back - just long enough before it engages into a first half-way lock - and dropping it back.
so, with an extended pin i was getting a flash every time. now, with the standard pin it never lights up.
hmm. correction - if dropped more aggressively - it does light up. hmm.

so i will take it to the range and will try running some rounds through it to see if it will be firing reliably enough.

from a visual assessment - a standard pin seems to be about a half or 1/4 mm inside with the hammer down. an extended pin protrudes out maybe a 1/4mm or bit less.