• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Deer & Snow

MaverickNH

NES Member
I'm pretty new at deer hunting, so wondering what folks might have to say about deer hunting and snow. Opening day 31Oct NH Muzzleloader looks like snow in the MHT area. In my area, Any Deer 31Oct-2Nov, thereafter antlered deer only.

1603802838584.png

Snow is good and bad. A little bit for tracking is great also makes following a blood trailer a lot easier if need be. 3' of snow sucks for getting around in the woods or if you get snow with a layer of ice on top its super loud. Also a white background makes a deer stand out a lot better.

Snow is good and bad. A little bit for tracking is great also makes following a blood trailer a lot easier if need be. 3' of snow sucks for getting around in the woods or if you get snow with a layer of ice on top its super loud. Also a white background makes a deer stand out a lot better.

Yeah, three feet of snow can suck, but what I put in bold is money. Deer have awesome camoflage and they know it. Sometimes they'll just stand there and watch you walk by. What is great is that first snowfall. They still think that standing still works, even though they're brown against a white background. It's like driving in the snow for people. Everyone has to learn all over again on the first snowfall.

Yeah, three feet of snow can suck, but what I put in bold is money. Deer have awesome camoflage and they know it. Sometimes they'll just stand there and watch you walk by. What is great is that first snowfall. They still think that standing still works, even though they're brown against a white background. It's like driving in the snow for people. Everyone has to learn all over again on the first snowfall.