• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Do I need reload data books?

MXD

I know its nice to have hard copies but it seems all the info is available on the web and can be printed out. Is there vital stuff in the books that not on the web or is it the same info? I am an "E" guy and I hate paper so since I'm new at this I figured some of you with more experience could give me some good advice.

As far as load data on the web, we should have a sticky with links on top of this page for quick reference. Just a thought.

For all hodgdon powders go here.
http://data.hodgdon.com/main_menu.asp

Every book i have looked at has the same data.

Edit: i still believe its a good idea to have the books on hand. not just for the load data but If you need a quick referance its right on the bench. plus every time i read one of my books I tend to find some small item i skipped the last time (example: i skiped the ewhole rifle section cause i never thought i would load rifle cartridge's).

Last edited:
Where's Duke to tell you that you will die if you don't buy a reloading manual? [laugh]

I recommend Speer's #14. It's less absurd than most. Getting data from the powder manuf's website is useful also. Sometimes the published loads in -some- manuals are too wimpy, so you have to do some research/leg work to see where the real maximum is for your application.

-Mike

When the internet is down and you hit the reloading bench your screwed!
I know its nice to have hard copies but it seems all the info is available on the web and can be printed out. Is there vital stuff in the books that not on the web or is it the same info? I am an "E" guy and I hate paper so since I'm new at this I figured some of you with more experience could give me some good advice.

As far as load data on the web, we should have a sticky with links on top of this page for quick reference. Just a thought.