• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Firearms class about NH gun laws?

Hey guys,

Before I get flamed for asking, I want you to know I'm a MA resident so I have to be on the 'paranoid' side of things when it comes to gun laws. I'm thinking of moving to NH and know very little about the gun laws in the state. Many will say "what gun laws" but since I'm a Ma**h***, I'm not familiar with a free state. Can someone direct me to where I can find the basic rules about gun laws in NH or better yet is there a gun law class available? I'm assuming no classes are available given how relaxed the laws are. If someone knows of a good website with the basics, please pass it along.

Thanks,
JonesUMD

Not necessary. All the gun laws in NH outside of the game regs fit on two pieces of paper. If you are capable of reading it doesn't take much. They literally are that simple. The only thing really regulated is carrying loaded handguns, which is doable with an NH license if you need to conceal it or to carry said loaded handgun in a vehicle. That, and at least so far, you cannot have a loaded long gun stored in a vehicle. Unloaded anything is free by default, no licenses required. No licenses required for open carry of a loaded handgun (while not in a vehicle).

FWIW GONH has a gun law FAQ here that is mostly correct: (And overkill for 99.9% of all situations, most of this FAQ covers stuff you won't ever have to deal with. )
http://gonh.org/uploads/images/65/FAQ_3-19-10-7-27-10.pdf

-Mike

Last edited:
it is pretty simple, spend 100 bucks for a non resident permit and carry concealed, carry loaded in your car.

don't spend any money, open carry loaded, CCW unloaded, carry unloaded in your car.

that pretty much covers it

with permit: CCW/loaded transport

no permit: loaded open carry only, no loaded weapons allowed to be concealed or transported