First Build(s)

tommyc

NES Member
Now that I’m retired and have the time I’ve purchased several 80% lowers. My question is to you that have done this would you recommend a drill press or a mini milling machine? Any particular brand or model? Thanking you all in advance.

Tommyc

Depends upon what you want for results.

You can use a hand drill and a router. It'll be a less than perfect finish, but it will work.
Or you can mill it out, and depending upon your skills and patience, you can get a perfect finish.
DefCad is out with their Ghost Gunner 3, 2's are being sold on Ebay.

Whichever way you go, you need a jig - and pay attention to your trigger pin holes. To do them properly, you should drill them undersize and hone them. Or just drill them and go with "good enough is good enough". Either way - get them in the right place.

Thank you Allen
Patience is something I’ve been working on (for 70 years), Ive purchased the neces jigs, my skill level on a scale of 1-10 is probably a 3.

Tommyc

i like to tell the true story of a friend of mine, a 80+ year old bartender from a club i frequent, who built his own 80% at the kitchen table, the lower in the jig, held between his knees, hogging it out with a hand drill. it worked, it functioned as it should, pin holes perfect. moral of the story, we don't need no stinking fancy tools.

i like to tell the true story of a friend of mine, a 80+ year old bartender from a club i frequent, who built his own 80% at the kitchen table, the lower in the jig, held between his knees, hogging it out with a hand drill. it worked, it functioned as it should, pin holes perfect. moral of the story, we don't need no stinking fancy tools.
My father is 85 and I barely trust him to use a spoon let alone making an 80%

Not cheap to get into but great to have access to a mill (and add a 7x14 lathe to round out a desktop machining setup)

The LittleMachineShop brushless drive unit is better but the cost is higher