First radio and antenna question

As many know, I'm still waiting on my call sign to go live, but I've been pondering what base station I should get.

I'm not yet interested in anything above 6m at this point. I just want to play around with local repeaters and get used to 'hamming it up'. [grin]

The problem I have is that I'm not very handy with all things mechanical...so installing my own antenna is going to be a challenge.

I live in a rural area and have a 2 story colonial. Ideally, I'd love to have an antenna or 3 on the roof, but I don't have a ladder tall enough to reach the roof and even if I did, I'd be scared shitless going up there. I am not good with heights.

So, I was wondering if anyone has a suggestion for a good tall crank-up type tower that I can secure in my yard or on my back deck.

I've got an idea for radios and still looking at my options. I need more help with the antenna setup.

Thanks

I built a ground plane antenna out of a SO-239 connector and some house wire. It was more for the fun of making it than to have something to install outside. I screwed the connector to a PVC cap, put that on a short length of PVC pipe, ran the coax down the pipe and out the bottom to my radio and clamped the pipe to a chair in my dining room/shack. It works great; I just have to be careful not to poke out an eye on the ground radials [wink].

I'm also in the midst of another antenna project that I got from KG0ZZ. It's the one I plan on installing outside once I get it together. It's a pretty simple idea and fairly cheap to make.

If you have an antenna analyzer (or a friend who has one) you can really dial in the lengths to get the SWR as low as possible. I don't so I just measured super carefully and hoped for the best. The ground plane works great and I expect the KG0ZZ design to be equally good. My local repeater is almost visible from my house, so I can get away with a less-than-perfect antenna.