• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Friends Don’t Let Friends Open Carry

tenor.gif

I believe open carry should be legal, but I wouldn't do it or recommend it.

On several occasions, I have had discussions about open carry with people who were considering doing it in jurisdictions outside Massachusetts. My first question is always "What are your thoughts on retention holsters, and do you plan to use one?" The response is usually "Huh?"

So then I give a brief introductory lesson on:
  • What is a retention holster?
  • History, design and testing of retention holsters.
  • Using and practicing with retention holsters.
  • Current use of retention holsters in law enforcement.
Note that I am not an expert on any of the above subjects, but I know enough to give an introduction and point people in the right direction to get more info. I finish by saying that choosing a retention holster or not is a personal decision that may depend on the situation. You don't necessarily need a retention holster, but you should be familiar with them, and prepared to explain your choice. After this discussion, people usually decide to do some research before carrying openly, which is all I am suggesting.

Another thing to consider, is the oft made statement that "Concealed means concealed." That statement is usually made in a different context, but it is also relevant here. Concealed also means surprise, and surprise is a tactical advantage that I would not recommend giving up lightly.