Gamo Bone Collector Maxxim $45

Not the land of the free but the home of the brave
Well I "scored" one of these NIB at Walmart on clearance for $45 reduced from $188! The last one though. Not totally impressed. It does seem overall a little cheap. Plastic scope and doesn't seem as durable as older real air rifles I've used in the past.

My real issue is the scope elevation is fully up and it's still a little low at 30 feet. I've reattached the scope and no difference. I'm looking for a scope recommendation as I have no air rifle knowledge. Maybe a straight 4x or some low 1x-4x variable or so.

Last edited:
You paid what it should have been all along.
Running out of elevation is not in common. Take a good look at the barrel and make sure it’s not bent. Use a long level .
As for scope take the $140 you saved and just buy a run of the mill 3x9 or such for about $50 should be ok with that gamo.

Does that gamo have the anti recoil scope mount thing. Almost seem like there is silicone in the rail recess.?

Post a pic and i will try to help.
1st thing i would do is take the gamo recoil rail thing off completely then just mount the scope mount right to reciever.
You will also gain some elevation.

Last edited:
While I agree with mac another option would be to shim the scope with a shim or two cut out of the side of a pop or beer can.

Re-center the adjustment and shim to see where you are at. Repeat if necessary.

Bob

Ya I was thinking the clearance price sb the regular price too.

Yes it has that recoil nib. It looks like it will thread inward. That's what I was playing with when I remounted the scope. That is great insight into possible problems. I have to wait until Saturday because the gun is not where I'm at now.

If I can get that scope to work I will be satisfied for now. That's good to know about a regular 3-9x
Thanks for the info I will let you know Saturday how it goes.