• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Garand matches open to newbies/non members?

rockdoc

NES Member
I'm new to all this, with a brand new Garand addiction, as well as a 20" AR-15. Do any of the northeast clubs holding CMP matches, Garand type matches or High Power matches open these up to newbie non members (or possible prospective future members)? I'm on Nantucket Island, but it's easy enough for me to travel to MA , New Hampshire, Maine or Vermont. Any advice? Where's a good place to start?

Thanks!
rockdoc

Haverhill Hound Rod and Gun has a number of different shoots. I don't remember when they are, but we have a web site -

www.hhrg.com

There should be a schedule of shoots there, and yes, they are open to the public.

Derek and Brent shoot at Reading. I shot there a couple of months ago and it's very nice. I don't know how close that is to you but it's about an hour and a half for Derek and he's there every weekend.

Reading and Haverhill aren't real close but coming from Nantucket, nothing really is..........but I'm willing to travel, so it won't be a problem. Only problem with travelling is stopping off "real quick" (yeah right!) at whatever gun shop's in the area. Did that yesterday, and what do ya know, my second Garand just happened to be there in the rack waiting for me!

I can't wait to get started going to matches! Even if it's more to watch, meet people, ask questions, and learn at first.

rockdoc

Rockdoc - have you tried looking on the GOAL web site for clubs on the south shore? There may be some listed there that do shoots that are open to the public. You could also do a goole search for guns clubs in soothern MA and see what you come up with (not all are listed on GOALS web site.)

BTW - GOAL is www.goal.org

Thanks Lynne,