• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Gathering Rifle Dope

Looking to get into the Long range game now that Granby has the 1k I'm in the final steps of finishing my 6.5 Grendel and need to figure out how to gather Dope for 1k with out actually being allowed to shoot the 1k. Is 300 yards long enough to get the information I need to make the shot. Should I be zeroing in at 100 or stretch out to 200. Im consistently hitting the 350 steel with using 2 MOA of hold over on the reticle but I know 1k is a much bigger beast then 350

I would zero your rifle in at the longest distance you have available. Accurate velocity of the load in YOUR rifle will be needed. Ballistic programs like JBM will be invaluable.

I'm no expert in long range shooting, and I know little of the 6.5 Grendel. I would start with chronographing your load in your barrel so you have an accurate muzzle velocity to enter into a ballistic calculator. Then select a zero distance that makes sense with your projectiles trajectory and your sight over bore height.

Edit: Dan beat me to it. and I'm sure he knows more than I on this topic

Looking to get into the Long range game now that Granby has the 1k I'm in the final steps of finishing my 6.5 Grendel and need to figure out how to gather Dope for 1k with out actually being allowed to shoot the 1k. Is 300 yards long enough to get the information I need to make the shot. Should I be zeroing in at 100 or stretch out to 200. Im consistently hitting the 350 steel with using 2 MOA of hold over on the reticle but I know 1k is a much bigger beast then 350

To hit steel at 1,000 you need to be under MOA at 100. Zero it at 200 and you will be fine at 1,000 as far as drop. You are better off getting a reliable zero and practicing trigger pull than you are trying to zero it at 300. IMO.