• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Getting into cowboy shooting

I just got my gun license, mainly for sport (I live in a pretty safe area) and I'm really interested in getting into cowboy shooting. What would be a good set of first guns to start with and get the basics down?

Right now, my usual gun store has a good price on a new Vaquero in .45 colt, and there are a few good lever actions around. My main questions are - is a Vaquero a good beginner's cowboy action gun? And what are good choices for beginner lever actions and shotguns? I have some experience with the lever actions so I'm not too lost there, but shotguns are really my Achilles heel when it comes to gun knowledge.

Just a side note: I live in MA, so no Uberti revolvers (or Colt SAA, for that matter) for me...

Join SASS then attend a shoot near you. Talk to the other SASS members they are great. I'm sure that they will offer to let you try whatever they are using. Very friendly group

Thanks, I'm always nervous about going to events like this blind, especially where I'm so new to guns in general. Luckily, the Danvers Desperados are only 15 minutes from my house and they have an event in less than a month.

Now to come up with a good name...

I heard the Vaqueros are THE gun to have for Cowboy Action...but you might want to consider a slightly cheaper/easier to find caliber....357 maybe?

I know just what you mean. The store says they can order new ones, but I don't know what they have in stock right now or how long that takes. I'm headed down later this afternoon to check/order in person. If it's gonna be a four month wait or something, I might just bite the bullet (so to speak) and get .45 colt. It would be a great excuse to get into reloading, too.

Or is gunbroker a good site/is it worth the hassle of shipping to MA through and FFL and all that?