• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

HAM Study Resources?

Can anyone suggest some good study resources? I'm looking to get licensed, but a total newbie. Is there anything out there on the web that I can study at my own pace? Any suggestions welcomed....

First, you probably want the ARRL study book: http://www.amazon.com/Ham-Radio-License-Manual-CD/dp/0872590976/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1298294954&sr=8-1

For passing the test. in addition to what Howard used, look at the online practice tests at qrz.com. I just kept doing them until I started passing a high percentage. http://www.qrz.com/exams

Don't get too hung up on understanding all the theory. Get your ticket first, and if it's something you like and stay with, the theory will come. Mainly, understand the operating procedures and rules, the safety stuff, and get that ticket.

hamtestonline.com it's $20 for the tech course and I believe $29 for the general. In my opinion it'll take you anywhere from 10 to 15 hours of study time for the tech course and probably another 10 or 15 for the general course.

My best suggestion is for you to look for a local ham radio club in your area.
It's usually as simple as just looking for your location on the web and deciding which club to visit.
There is no one at the door collecting dues or twisting your arm to join and they usually serve refreshments at the end of the meeting.
Every person at one time or another has had to take the test and so there is already a lot of reading material and practice study guides out there - not being put to use - that you can use without having to spend the $25 a book to buy.
I was sick and couldn't do much of anything for a week and I spent the time while I was home - reading the manuals that a club member loaned to me.