Hammerli Tac R1 vs. S&W 15-22

mattgm100

NES Member
Hey all,

I'm new to guns. I'm looking to start with a 22LR on the AR platform (15-22, etc.) and have come across the S&W 15-22 and the Hammerli Tac R1. Has anyone used both?
Can you recommend one over the other, what you like, and why?

Also, if anyone knows where to get a 15-22 or is willing to sell one please let me know!

Thanks in advance,
Matt M.

i would go SW
The Hammerli is a Umerex company as soon as you buy one they will be discontinued and gou will need parts! Thats just my feelings.

Hey all,

I'm new to guns. I'm looking to start with a 22LR on the AR platform (15-22, etc.) and have come across the S&W 15-22 and the Hammerli Tac R1. Has anyone used both?
Can you recommend one over the other, what you like, and why?

Also, if anyone knows where to get a 15-22 or is willing to sell one please let me know!

Thanks in advance,
Matt M.
Read the ‘best .22lr’ thread next to this one.
You will be better with a bolt action, like Savage Mark II FV people spoke about.
Use an AR with .223 and 5.56.

15-22

The R1 and the umarex has a non functional bolt release, you have to use the charging handle. That’s a no go for me

Yeah I'm more looking to have fun, not necessarily looking for "the best .22 LR"
Looks like fun
CITADEL TRAKR .22LR RIFLE - 18" under $200
Chiappa ma kes a few kool 22s
MFOUR 22
And a M1-22
All fun
I love it. A $200 trigger in a $400 gun. That reminds me, I need to upgrade the trigger in mine!
eh is what it is , I have scope rings on some 22s that are worth more than the gun they are on. Dont even ask me about the scopes

Can you shed some light on what this means? Thanks!
The 15-22 has an AR-Style bolt release. The R1 and Umarex don't, and you have to pull the charging handle back to drop the bolt.