Hello from newbie and musket question.

Hey everybody,

A buddy of mine suggested I come join the fun here [grin]. I'm just getting started in the hobby, working on getting my LTC, and all that. Anyway, I've got a (modern repro) musket that I've had sitting around for years and I thought it would be fun to get it out and see what it's all about. Anybody know a good place in central MA to learn about shooting and caring for such a weapon?

Howdy.....
I shot CW era Rifle-muskets and carbines competitively for years. Not the best, though I learned from some of the best. Probably ran 20,000 rounds down the tube in 15 years.
Also, the New England Region of the North-South Skirmish Association, one of the busiest in the country has members all around you.
Whaddaya need to know?
Either keep the thread going for the benefit of all or PM me.....whatever is easiest for ya!

CJC

Thanks for the welcome Matt, and CJC thanks for the reply. I've got a million questions, like is it even safe to fire given that it's been neglected for years, how to get the thing apart for cleaning, what kind of ammo do I use and where do I get it, what kind of accuracy should I expect, where's a good place to go shoot it, etc. But mainly I want to know if there's anybody around that could give me some hands-on training with it.

Not sure where abouts you are, but when I lived in western Mass, I frequently shot at Westfield Sportsman's Club . Quite a few muzzleloader shooters there & a friendly bunch of guys.

As far as safety goes, given that it's a modern muzzleloader, there hopefully shouldn't be any issues.. Just check the exterior of the barrel for rot/holes/cracks, etc... Find yourself a bore light, or a very bright light that'll allow you to see down inside the barrel. Check for rust.

As far as cleaning goes, get yourself some black powder bore cleaner, bore butter & some cleaning patches.