Hot barrel help

Went to the range today to continue breaking in my new acquisition.

It was hot!

I did a mix of targets and drills, dot torture is new and fun and hard and now I need a holster. Go figure.
All was relatively fine, never mind the dripping sweat and the guy and his girl next to me blasting zombie deer targets with bird shot at 3 yards, indoors! Not a fan.
I digress, the last 20-30 shots of my 300 seemed to be hitting low, much lower than point of aim. At 7 yds. It was at least 2 inches below point of aim. I’m relatively new at this, but shots were hitting more or less point of aim all morning. I went reallll slow just to confirm I wasn’t jerking/pulling the shots low.
The slide was hot, not warm, but full on hot!
After some searching I couldn’t find a solid answer to this question. It’s the only thing I could think of.

Will a hot barrel begin to affect shot placement?
Or, was I just hot and sweaty, and need more practice?
I know I need more practice... That said, I still feel strongly that point of aim, and bullet impact were askew.

It’s a VP9 with just under 500 rds. through it.

This newb appreciates any input.
Thanks.

Barrel heat can have an impact, but I typically see that on rifles, not handguns. Maybe you were just a little more fatigued at the end of your session and pulling the shots more.

I would clean the VP9 and lube again. See if it is still doing it the next time you take it out.

Maybe others here will have some better insight for you.

I digress, the last 20-30 shots of my 300 seemed to be hitting low, much lower than point of aim.

Sounds like fatigue-related accuracy issue.

We are not Supermen. It gets hot, we get tired, the gun gets heavy. Accuracy suffers.

If I am shooting well and then accuracy starts falling off. I clean up and leave...

Why waste ammo or risk a mistake?

~Matt

Sounds like fatigue-related accuracy issue.

We are not Supermen. It gets hot, we get tired, the gun gets heavy. Accuracy suffers.