• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

IDPA near Boston

Hello,

I'm an absolute newbie when it comes to competition shooting. I'd like to get into IDPA or some other action competition shooting. I live right outside of Boston, can anyone recommend a club/range within a reasonable distance that does that?

Thanks!

If you really want to get into competition, what difference does it make how far the club is?

This still has to fit in my life's schedule... I'm not going to do something like quit my job and move so I can shoot competitively on an amateur/newbie level. I work in Boston and don't get done with work until around 6pm every day, so if a club is an hour away and their practice starts at 5:30, I can't participate, so I may as well not join the club.

I guess reasonable to me meant less than an hour, but if there's no closer options, I guess that's what I'm stuck with. Which do you prefer? Are you a member of closer clubs/ranges as well?

They are both great competition clubs and I have friends at both. My club is also about an hour away, but I use it only for teaching people to shoot and sighting in my firearms. There is a whole forum here on gun clubs in MA. Choosing a club is a very personal decision. You should decide what you want in a club, how funky their rules may be (the FUDD factor), how often you will use it, and how far you are willing to travel. My thoughts only.

This still has to fit in my life's schedule... I'm not going to do something like quit my job and move so I can shoot competitively on an amateur/newbie level. I work in Boston and don't get done with work until around 6pm every day, so if a club is an hour away and their practice starts at 5:30, I can't participate, so I may as well not join the club.

Most matches are on Sunday, so work shouldn't be an issue.