Inherited guns coming into Mass

"These guns? Ive been borrowing them from my uncle for a few years now,.. He passed away a while ago but I still consider them his"- A buddy from Maine

Last edited:
Pretty sure @Len-2A Training has said that the inheritance link is not right.
Worse than that. If you try to use inheritance, you will find that you will NOT be able to "inherit" the guns.

MGL allows you to inherit guns from anywhere, but the FRB in their <lack of> wisdom created a form that will not allow you to fill it out if the deceased didn't have an active MA LTC at the time of death. NOTHING in MGL supports that assertion. It also demands too much personal info that is not required by MGL.

Just use Registration, skipping the part that asks where you got the gun.

Sorry for your loss.

Don't need any info on WHERE/WHO you got the guns from on a "Registration".

Registration is for the following types of usage (not intended to be inclusive):

- Inheritance,
- Obtained on C&R FFL from out-of-state source,
- Brought into MA by person who moves guns into MA AFTER they officially moved in/became a legal MA Resident,
- Brought into MA from your 2nd home in another state,
- Bought in-state from someone on your C&R FFL where other party didn't do an FA-10 with you,
- etc.
Rather than make a new thread, I thought I'd use this one since I think the answer I need is bolded in the quote above.

Situation: I used to live in Free State, owned a MA AG "approved" handgun in Free State. Move to MA, leave gun w/ friend in Free State until I get my LTC in MA. I acquire my LTC, and the hand gun is now with me in MA.

I simply register it within 7 days of it entering MA and I'm good?

Rather than make a new thread, I thought I'd use this one since I think the answer I need is bolded in the quote above.