• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Interview in Salem, MA

Hi all,

British immigrant here who, now I have my green card, will be attending my interview tomorrow in Salem., MA. I have heard that the polcie force here are more restrictive in giving out unrestricted LTCs which has concerned me for two reason.

1) The neighboring towns are less strict, and I find it a little bit odd that towns on the North Shore do not confirm to similar standards. Seems a little unfair that 5 minutes away over the other town line someone is carrying concealed whereas I can't.

2) I work part time as a spokesperson/director for a high profile political movement, and would ultimately like the option to conceal carry for my own protection.

I plan on highlighting the two points to the officer in the hope I can get an unrestricted, but has anyone else here had experience in Salem and able to offer some advice on how to handle the situation?

It's strange that you find anything gun related in this Country odd. Considering you came from a Country that it's subjects, are not trusted with firearms.

Well I would certainly argue Salem having a different policy to Beverly on the unrestricted is bewildering to me. But nothing surprises me in Salem to be honest, I'm starting to learn that. It seems unfair that just over the way someone can legally bring their concealed weapon to Salem as their town issues unrestricted to anyone who asks, whereas this town you're expected to not be given the same rights. Not much of a level playing field. I do wander if there is a rights issue there.

1) The neighboring towns are less strict, and I find it a little bit odd that towns on the North Shore do not confirm to similar standards. Seems a little unfair that 5 minutes away over the other town line someone is carrying concealed whereas I can't.