Just ordered 10-8 Performance rear sight for SR1911

On the advice of M1911 and a few others, I've ordered this Low Mount Rear Sight to replace the standard Novak's 3-dot on my Ruger SR1911. Goals are to a) easier visual acquisition of front sight and b) ability to rack slide on holster with one hand.

http://www.10-8performance.com/products/1911-Low-Mount-Rear-Sight.html

Current (stock) rear sight appears to be .375" tall with notch width of .125", so this is what I ordered.

Replacing this dovetailed sight doesn't look like rocket science, but it's my first time so any advice / guidance is appreciated. Wouldn't want to foul up what is currently a very accurate shooter!

What exactly is the advantage of racking the slide on the holster?? Just curious.

Let me know how you like the sights. I love the Novak's that are on mine. I would need a really good reason to change them out.

Most shops will have a sight tool to swap them out.

Thanks, Andy. Would you not recommend I do it myself? Seems a simple dovetail and a screw...

What exactly is the advantage of racking the slide on the holster?? Just curious.

Let me know how you like the sights. I love the Novak's that are on mine. I would need a really good reason to change them out.
If you don't have use of your weak hand for any reason, you want to be able to rack the slide on your holster. The ramp of the standard Novak's sight, combined with the heavy Ruger springs, makes this pretty much impossible. The 10-8 sight is notched in a way that should make this possible.

I put this sight on my S&W E-series and was able to do it with a Derlin Punch and a brass gunsmiths hammer in about 5minutes. 10-8 makes good stuff.

If you don't have use of your weak hand for any reason, you want to be able to rack the slide on your holster. The ramp of the standard Novak's sight, combined with the heavy Ruger springs, makes this pretty much impossible. The 10-8 sight is notched in a way that should make this possible.