Kerosene, from the pump, at a decent price

MisterHappy

NES Member
On the 16 yard line, shootin' for the Lewis!
If anyone is looking, it was $3.39/gal. at the Speedway in Wellesley on Route 9 westbound. The one across the road does not have it.

You have to go in, and fill out a form with name and address, as it's not allowed for on-road use, but there was no checking of ID.

It was better than the $15 for two gallons at Home Despot the other day.

Happy lamp-lighting

Kerosene, from the pump, at a decent price
If anyone is looking, it was $3.39/gal. at the Speedway in Wellesley on Route 9 westbound. The one across the road does not have it.

(actually, it's in Natick, just West of Oak street)

I missed this thread back in September because it was posted here and not in the Off Topic forum.

I've been using a wick type kerosene heater here for several years, and that's where I've been getting my fuel.
The price jumped twice since this was posted, it went to $3.59 and now it's $3.79, but still way cheaper than the stuff at HD or Lowes.

Clear or dyed

It's CLEAR K1, which is the only stuff you should use in a Wick type heater.
The reason being, the red dye leaves a hard crusty residue on the wick, which greatly reduces the efficiency and heat output, and it cannot be cleaned off. Once the wick is contaminated it must be replaced.

I've been looking for a place that has clear K1 at the pump around the Nashua area because it's not always convenient to drive to Natick.
Haffners in Hudson only has the red dyed stuff so I avoid it.
It's fine for bullet type heaters and oil burners that use a spray nozzle, but NOT in wick heaters.

The Speedway website claims their Lowell location has clear K1, but Lowell is a place I'd rather avoid if possible.

Anyway, I just discovered that there's a Sunoco in Nashua that has clear K1 at the pump.
It's the station on the Eastbound side of RT#130, Exit 6 off RT#3 right next to the access road into the Nashua DMV office.