• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Large Capacity Magazine Sale Legality

Status
Not open for further replies.
I live in Misery... um... let me rephrase that...
I'm a resident of Missouri! That's it!
New to your forum, though active on others that are firearms related, and I have a question.

I posted for sale using an online firearms auction site, some 30 round magazines for a Ruger Mini 14 that are pre-ban manufacture.
The individual that won the auction is a resident of MA and does hold a class A license.
My first thought is that it would not be legal for me to complete the auction as MA has a magazine capacity restriction of 10 rounds.
This individual informed me that in fact was not the case and that the sale was perfectly legal. They went so far as to say that if I was not comfortable shipping directly to them I could ship instead to their FFL holder that does transfers for them.
I've been on the phone with several different departments within the MA Attorney General's office, local and state law enforcement agencies, and even the ATF though it is a state law trying to get a definitive answer. More than a dozen total.
Most each and every individual that I spoke to insisted that it would be illegal for me to complete the auction, a couple admitted that they really weren't sure if it would or would not be.
Only three provided reference to MA general law to support their determination that it would not be legal for me to complete the auction.
Those references directed me to MA General Laws chapter 140, sections 131E and 131M.
When I read those section of chapter 140 it seems to me that I've not been told the truth by the powers that be, or there is some sort of disconnect in interpretation of what the law says.
I am asking here hoping to get a definitive answer from those who most likely know, and can point me to some documentation to support that answer.