• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

LTC ADVICE: BOSTON STUDENT RESIDENT IN GREEN TOWN

So I turn 21 in a few months and am preparing to get my LTC. My parents live in a green town and I am still a dependent of theirs. All of my bills, taxes, voting, address on my license, vehicle registration all take place in said green town. I also have an FID issued by the same green town. I am a college student in Boston and live in an off campus apartment. I do frequently travel to the green town but spend most of my time in Boston. I also have intentions of leaving Boston as soon as I graduate. I am looking to get my LTC in the green town as I am not a permenant resident of Boston although my name is on the lease. Is this the correct thing to do? Is it legal to store the firearm at my off campus apartment? Again I don’t consider myself a permanent Boston resident but i want to make sure i am doing everything legally.

thanks for the advice!

Last edited:
If you spend most of your time in your leased apartment in Boston then you live in Boston. Failure to update your driver's license is not a loophole.

A couple other things to think about, beyond where you apply for your LTC:
You say "off campus apartment"; building is not owned by the college, right?
Do your roommates know about your hobby? Is your roommate's girlfriend a regular on r/guncontrol/ ? Do you like to have parties in your appt? Think carefully...and regardless, lock stuff well.
Some student areas are known to have frequent break-ins. Not sure I'd bring my most valuable stuff there.