• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

LTC Restrictions

Ok, I read a ton of posts and still not clear on a few things.

I have an ltc a , with "no restrictions":

From what I read " I cannot carry in a school, federal or state building, On me while (if drinking with .08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). Is there anything else I am missing as I am new with this license and certainly don't want to screw up.

Thanks,

Logan Airport, Post Offices, teaching hospitals?

I meant to put a space and question mark after "teaching Hosptials" and just realised I didnt. I am interested in knowing if teaching hospitals fall under the school law

Last edited:
The .08 BAC does not actually apply legally to "being intoxicated with a firearm". In fact, "intoxicated" is not defined in terms of firearms violations so in theory you can get hung up carrying a firearm with a .02 BAC

Ok, I read a ton of posts and still not clear on a few things.

I have an ltc a , with "no restrictions":

From what I read " I cannot carry in a school, federal or state building, On me while (if drinking with .08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). Is there anything else I am missing as I am new with this license and certainly don't want to screw up.

Thanks,

You cannot carry on school grounds. That would include the parking lot, ballfields, the college quad, as well as the building itself. It covers colleges as well. Courthouses are off limits when posted but not state buildings in general IIRC.

There is no limit on alcohol consumption. The law states that you cannot carry when you are under the influence. That means the .08 thing does not necessarily apply Not sure how much, if any case law there is on this but staying away from alcohol when carrying would be prudent.