M&P trigger job

So I'm seriously considering purchasing an m&p, and I know the MA trigger is god awful. Does anyone know about how much a decent trigger job would cost?

About 90 bucks if you buy the kit from Apex Tactical and install it yourself, that's what I have done with my M&Ps. I don't know what a smithy would cost you however.

No idea where you are but here's some estimates (from a year or two ago, so prices may have increased slightly):

Greg Derr-Marshfield (did a great job on mine) - last I heard he charged ~$75

Mike Larocca-Worcester - $125

Dave Santurri-N. Attleboro - ~$85

Remsport-Ludlow - no idea

I had the full Apex DCAEK and RAM put in my M&P9c at First Defense Firearms in Uxbridge. Basically msrp on the parts, and $45 cash to have it installed (by someone they work with). *For me* it was worth it to pay to have it done right. It's like a whole new gun now.

I am still a bit of a noob to the inside of handguns, so I had Lou at BEC put the APEX in my M&P9c last year. Just the price of the kit plus $40-$45 (think of it as less than 10% cost of gun). Probably not much difference from the gunsmith job, but you can always replace parts or sell/trade it in the future as having the APEX kit prof. installed which is a known item.

Also, you find many used M&Ps with APEX already in them...Four Seasons in Woburn for sure.

Is this a simple enough task for a newbie gun owner to do? Or should it be left to a professional?

It's not too bad - Apex has some youtube videos up that you can check out to get an idea of the install, plus their customer service is awesome. The worse part is getting the trigger block back in with all of the springs not flying away. I actually found that by taking the pistol apart I learned a lot more about it's operation.

http://www.youtube.com/user/apextactical/videos