Marine basic training info needed

Do they train with M9's in basic training? My son is headed to Parris Island at the end of October. I just picked up a Beretta 92FS and was wondering if it would be good to get him out to the range and get him comfortable with it. Is it something he will be doing in basic? I went through Air Force Basic Training and we never touched a handgun. We got our M9 training a couple weeks before we deployed.

I know I won't be training him as the Marines will, but some familiarity of the handgun might make that day in class that much easier.

Thanks

Better he should get some time on an AR , even better still, get him to an Appleseed so he can work on the fundamentals of marksmanship.

I'm no expert on what the Marines are doing but I don't think he getting a sidearm issued unless he's an officer, senior NCO or on a crew served weapon.

Attending an Appleseed will give him the basic skills he will need if he sees combat.

Note: I'm not just shilling for Appleseed here, I really believe this would help.

Thanks. His MOS is a technical one, not a combat one. So he may never see a sidearm.

We have been spending a lot of time with the AR15's. He's no stranger to them. We did look into attending an Appleseed, but our weekends never seemed to work out.

Thanks again for the information.

He will get plenty of instruction in Boot Camp. Two weeks worth. They are going to tell him that what ever he learned in the past was wrong. Tell him not to sweat it. They just don't want recruits thinking they know more than the PMI. Some of them actually think they do. [wink]

He will get plenty of instruction in Boot Camp. Two weeks worth. They are going to tell him that what ever he learned in the past was wrong. Tell him not to sweat it. They just don't want recruits thinking they know more than the PMI. Some of them actually think they do. [wink]