• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

mossberg 590a1 issue

btnh6668

NES Member
I have an issue with my 590a1 im hoping the NES brain trust can help me with. Let me start by saying I have very little experience with shotguns. When shooting the shotgun the "elevator" becomes loose inside receiver. In other words the end of the elevator there are two notches that set in place on either side of the receiver. When shooting they get loose and come out of place causing me to not be able to eject the round. I had to disassemble the whole gun to be able to extract the round. The elevator seems like it should have more tension. The shotgun is about 7 years old but only has about 40 rounds through it. Bought it brand new. Im wondering if there is a more improved part i can use in its place or if there is another issue causing the elevator to move while shooting. mossberg elevator.jpg

i dont know how to explain it , but you need to round off, bevel and polish the forward piece on the flip side. The little tit that sticks out on the inside and the curved piece on the leading edge.

Interesting, you’re saying the lifter is coming loose whilst shooting? I’ve seen people dropping 500/590’s directly on their side and inducing an issue.

View: https://youtu.be/LsZaLmijSpg

Sounds like you might need a replacement lifter?
I have a 590 that I’ve put a couple hundred rounds through in about a year. No issues whatsoever. Contact Mossberg and see what they say. Photos help as well.

Interesting, you’re saying the lifter is coming loose whilst shooting? I’ve seen people dropping 500/590’s directly on their side and inducing an issue.

I have a 590 that I’ve put a couple hundred rounds through in about a year. No issues whatsoever. Contact Mossberg and see what they say. Photos help as well.