• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Moving to Massachusetts, running my plan/understanding by members here

Well, I didn't see any point in a brake. What would it do for me but make more noise? I spoke to several gunsmiths, and they all preferred to cut and recrown. For that matter, why go looking for a lower for $1400 just to keep the flash hider? I think 10-round magazines will absolutely get it done in any situation I can imagine myself being in where I might use an AR15! I have plenty of 10-round magazines, too. I'd love to have my 30-round mags, don't get me wrong, but I don't perceive this as a major issue for me in any realistic scenario I would face.

And you can keep your Glock mags. I prefer a 1911.

I have moved three times, so I have a lot of experience in this. For the first time, I decided I could handle it independently. I sorted things, bought boxes, packed them, and transported them for several days. It was inexpensive, but I had to spend a lot of time and effort. Therefore, the last two times, I used the services of a moving companyacelinemoving.com. I didn't worry about time, didn't carry boxes, and was confident in a high-quality result. Don't do it yourself if you want to get through your move quickly. But to transport weapons, you need to purchase exceptional cases.

Last edited:
Hi all,

I’m moving to Massachusetts soon. I tried to figure all this crap out myself, and I just wanted to run it by folks here. I think I’ve got it figured out, as I’ve been reading a lot, here and in other places. I have a number of handguns, but they are all single-stack handguns with magazine capacities of 10 or lower. I have a lever-action hunting rifle that holds 3 rounds in the magazines. I also have a BCM 20” AR15 (fixed stock, threaded barrel with A2 flash hider, no bayonet lug) and a bunch of recent-manufacture 30-round magazines.